Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS)


Sahara and Sahel Observatory
BP 31, Boulevard du Leader Yesser Arafet
1080 Tunis

The Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS) is an international, intergovernmental organization operating in Africa’s Sahara-Sahel region. OSS was founded in 1992 in Paris and moved its headquarters to Tunis (Tunisia) in 2000.

OSS members include 22 African countries, five non-regional countries, ten organizations (including sub-regional organizations representing West Africa, East Africa and North Africa), and a non-governmental organization.

OSS works with its member countries according to the principle of subsidiarity. It acts as both an initiator and a facilitator of partnerships to address common environmental challenges. The management of transboundary water resources and the implementation of Multilateral Environmental Agreements, notably those addressing desertification, biodiversity and climate change, constitute key areas in the organization’s work.

Our programs and projects are funded by voluntary contributions, grants and donations from member countries, organizations, and partners.

See more at: and